Skip to content

Posts from the ‘UK’ Category


UK – Danger Money (1979) – Lp

U.K. are a British progressive rock supergroup originally active from 1977 until 1980.

uk - danger money












Artist:  UK
Title:  Danger Money
Year:  1979
Format:  LP
Label:  Polydor Records
Catalog# PD-1-6194

The band was composed of singer/bassist John Wetton (formerly of King Crimson, Roxy Music, Bryan Ferry‘s band and Uriah Heep), keyboardist/electric violinist Eddie Jobson (formerly of Curved Air, Roxy Music and Frank Zappa‘s band), guitarist Allan Holdsworth (formerly of Tempest, Soft Machine, The New Tony Williams Lifetime and Gong) and drummer Bill Bruford (formerly a full member of Yes and King Crimson, and also a tour drummer for Genesis), later replaced by drummer Terry Bozzio (formerly of Frank Zappa‘s band).

Danger Money is the second and final studio album by the progressive rock supergroup U.K., featuring John Wetton, Eddie Jobson and Terry Bozzio. It was released by E.G. Records / Polydor in March 1979. “The Only Thing She Needs”, “Caesar’s Palace Blues” and “Carrying No Cross” had been performed on tour throughout 1978 (and an early version of “Carrying No Cross” included what became the intro to the title track) by the band’s original line-up with Bill Bruford and Allan Holdsworth. “Rendezvous 6:02” and “Nothing to Lose” were both edited for single release.

After the departure of Bruford and Holdsworth, U.K. did not bring in another guitarist, instead becoming a trio with drummer Terry Bozzio (another one-time Frank Zappa band member). They recorded the studio album Danger Money, released in March 1979, and spent much of that year touring North America as opening act for Jethro Tull. The album spawned a minor hit single, “Nothing to Lose”, which reached number 67 on the UK charts. A live album, Night After Night, was recorded in Japan that spring and released in September 1979. Following a final European tour in December 1979, and in spite of plans to record a new studio album in America in March 1980, U.K. disbanded as Jobson and Wetton had different ideas on how the band should develop. Jobson wanted UK to go on with more long instrumental pieces, while Wetton thought that performing shorter songs was a better idea. Jobson stated that one song in particular was the reason of the band to disband: “When Will You Realize”, a non-LP B-side (to date still unavailable on CD) featured on the “Night After Night” single, which Wetton would re-record (with slightly different lyrics) in 1980 on his solo album Caught in the Crossfire.


Side one
1. Danger Money  (8:12)
2. Rendezvous 6:02  (5:00)
3. The Only Thing She Needs  (7:53)

Side two
1. Caesar’s Palace Blues  (4:42)
2. Nothing to Lose  (3:57)
3. Carrying No Cross  (12:20)

%d bloggers like this: