Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Tavares’ Category


Tavares – Sky High (1976) – Lp

Tavares (also known as The Tavares Brothers) are an American R&B, funk, and soul music group, composed of five Cape Verdean-American brothers. Born and raised in Providence, Rhode Island, they would later move to New Bedford, Massachusetts.













Artist:  Tavares
Title:  Sky High
Year:  1976
Format:  LP
Label:  Capitol Records
Catalog#  E-ST 11533

Sky High! is the fourth album by American soul/R&B group Tavares, released in 1976 on the Capitol label. Their first album with Freddie Perren at the production helm, Sky High! includes R&B-flavored tracks of the kind for which the group had become known via their earlier albums, but is best remembered for its two disco-oriented tracks “Heaven Must Be Missing an Angel” and “Don’t Take Away the Music”, whose combination of the group’s soulful vocals and harmonies with Perren’s glossy, shimmering production have proved enduringly popular. These singles also broke Tavares in the United Kingdom, where both reached the top 5 and the album made the top 30. In the United States, Sky High! peaked at #24 on the pop chart and #20 R&B.

The success of the singles from Sky High! contributed towards Tavares’ double-edged reputation, which persists to a considerable extent, of being a disco group. This is particularly the case in the UK, where the group’s earlier albums and singles were all but unknown outside the specialist soul music market. Though never a single, the track “Bein’ With You” has been embraced by the Carolina Beach/Shag Music community.

“Mighty Power of Love” has a footnote in UK music history as the first single to be released commercially to stores in 12-inch format in early 1977. Although it failed to chart in the US, it was a decent-sized hit in Britain, and peaked at #25 on the UK Singles Chart in February, 1977.


Side one
1.  Mighty Power of Love   (3:58)
2.  Ridin’ High   (4:05)
3.  To the Other Man   (4:34)
4.  Heaven Must Be Missing an Angel   (6:32)

Side two
1.  Bein’ With You   (3:45)
2.  Wonderful   (4:00)
3.  Guiding Star   (6:34)
4.  Don’t Take Away the Music   (6:18)

%d bloggers like this: