Rush is a Canadian rock band composed of Geddy Lee (bass guitar, lead vocals, keyboards), Alex Lifeson (guitars, backing vocals) and Neil Peart (drums, percussion, lyrics). Forming in 1968.












Artist:  Rush
Title:  Signals
Year:  1982
Format:  LP
Label:  Mercury Records
Catalog#  6337243

Signals is the ninth studio album by Canadian rock band Rush, released in 1982. It was the follow-up to the successful Moving Pictures. Stylistically, the album was a continuation of Rush’s foray into the technology-oriented 1980s through increased use of electronic instrumentation such as synthesizers, sequencers, and electric violin. The album reached No. 10 on the Billboard album charts and was certified platinum.

Instead of playing it safe and writing Moving Pictures, Pt. II, Rush replaced their heavy rock of yesteryear with even more modern sounds for 1982’s Signals. Synthesizers were now an integral part of the band’s sound, and replaced electric guitars as the driving force for almost all the tracks. And more current and easier-to-grasp topics (teen peer pressure, repression, etc.) replaced their trusty old sci-fi-inspired lyrics. While other rock bands suddenly added keyboards to their sound to widen their appeal, Rush gradually merged electronics into their music over the years, so such tracks as the popular MTV video “Subdivisions” did not come as a shock to longtime fans. And Rush didn’t forget how to rock out — “The Analog Kid” and “Digital Man” were some of their most up-tempo compositions in years. The surprise hit, “New World Man,” and “Chemistry” combined reggae and rock (begun on 1980’s Permanent Waves), “The Weapon” bordered on new wave, the placid “Losing It” featured Ben Mink on electric violin, while the epic closer “Countdown” painted a vivid picture of a space shuttle launch. Signals proved that Rush were successfully adapting to the musical climate of the early ’80s.


Side one
1.  Subdivisions  (5:34)
2.  The Analog Kid  (4:47)
3.  Chemistry  (4:56)
4.  Digital Man  (6:23)

Side two
1.  The Weapon  (6:27)
2.  New World Man  (3:44)
3.  Losing It  (4:53)
4.  Countdown  (5:48)