Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Robert Plant’ Category


Robert Plant – The Principle Of Moments (1983) – Lp

Robert Anthony Plant, CBE (born 20 August 1948) is an English singer, songwriter, and musician, best known as the lead singer and lyricist of the rock band Led Zeppelin.












Artist:  Robert Plant
Title:  The Principle Of Moments
Year:  1983
Format:  LP
Label:  Warner Bros. Records
Catalog#  790101-1

Robert Plant‘s follow-up to Pictures at Eleven implements much of his debut’s style and vocal meandering into a new and more exciting bunch of songs. The mysteriousness of “Big Log,” the album’s first single, reached the Top 20 in the United States and in the U.K., while “In the Mood” is The Principle of Moments‘ finest offering, proving that Plant could roam freely with his voice and still have it work effectively. But Plant doesn’t stop here, as he gives tracks like “Wreckless Love,” “Stranger Here…Than Over There,” and “Other Arms” an equal amount of curt abstractness and rock appeal. Because Plant‘s voice is so compelling in any state, the convolution of his writing tends to take a back seat to his singing in most of his solo work, which is definitely the case in most of the songs here. Plant went on tour with the Honeydrippers within the same year of The Principle of Moments‘ release, adding another facet to his already diverse solo repertoire.

The most popular track on album-oriented rock radio in the US was “Other Arms“, which reached number-one on the Billboard Top Tracks chart. Genesis‘ drummer Phil Collins played drums for six of the album’s eight songs (as he did on Pictures at Eleven). On the other two tracks former Jethro Tull drummer Barriemore Barlow performed.

Like Plant’s first solo album, Pictures at Eleven, the songs departed from the hard rock sound of Led Zeppelin. Following the strength of these albums, Plant launched a successful tour in 1983.


Side one
1.  Other Arms  (4:20)
2.  In The Mood  (5:19)
3.  Messin’ With The Mekon  (4:40)
4.  Wreckless Love  (5:18)

Side one
1.  Thru’ With The Two Step  (5:33)
2.  Horizontal Departure  (4:19)
3.  Stranger Here…Than Over There  (4:18)
4.  Big Log  (5:03)


Robert Plant – Pictures At Eleven (1982) – Lp

Robert Anthony Plant, CBE (born 20 August 1948) is an English musician, singer, and songwriter best known as the lead singer and lyricist of the rock band Led Zeppelin.

robert plant - the principle of moments












Artist:  Robert Plant
Title:  Pictures At Eleven
Year:  1982
Format:  LP
Label:  Swan Song Records
Catalog# SS 59418

Pictures at Eleven is the debut solo album by former Led Zeppelin singer Robert Plant, released in 1982. For his debut solo album, Robert Plant doesn’t exactly succumb to everyone’s expectations. With a less-potent vocal style, Plant manages to carry out most of the songs in smooth, stylish fashion while rocking out rather convincingly on a couple of others. He gets some pretty good help from guitarist Robbie Blunt, who truly comes to life on “Worse Than Detroit,” and both Phil Collins and Cozy Powell give Plant enough of a solid background to lean his sultry yet surging rock voice against. Plant channels his energy quite effectively through songs like “Pledge Pin” and “Moonlight in Samosa,” while the single “Burning Down One Side” is a creditable one, even though it failed to crack the Top 50 in both the U.K. and the U.S. The most apparent characteristic about the album’s eight tracks is the fact that Plant is able to escape most of his past and still sound motivated. Without depending too much on his Led Zeppelin days, he courses a new direction without changing or disguising his distinct vocal style whatsoever. Pictures at Eleven peaked within the Top Five on both sides of the Atlantic, successfully launching Plant‘s solo career.

All songs written by Robert Plant and Robbie Blunt, except “Burning Down One Side,” “Fat Lip,” and “Far Post” written by Plant, Blunt and Jezz Woodroffe.


Side one
1.  Burning Down One Side  (3:53)
2.  Moonlight In Samosa  (3:57)
3.  Pledge Pin  (4:00)
4.  Slow Dancer  (7:41)

Side two
1.  Worse Than Detroit  (5:54)
2.  Fat Lip  (5:03)
3.  Like I’ve Never Been Gone  (5:45)
4.  Mystery Title  (5:16)

%d bloggers like this: