Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Pink Floyd’ Category


Pink Floyd – The Wall (1979) – 2Lp

Pink Floyd were an English rock band formed in London. They achieved international acclaim with their progressive and psychedelic music. Distinguished by their use of philosophical lyrics, sonic experimentation, extended compositions and elaborate live shows, they are one of the most commercially successful and influential groups in the history of popular music.













Artist:  Pink Floyd
Title:  The Wall
Year:  1979
Format:  2LP
Label:  Harvest Records
Catalog#  1A 15863410

The Wall is the eleventh studio album by the English rock band Pink Floyd, released as a double album on 30 November 1979 by Harvest Records in the United Kingdom and by Columbia Records in the United States. It is the last studio album released with the line-up of guitarist David Gilmour, bass guitarist and lyricist Roger Waters, keyboardist Richard Wright, and drummer Nick Mason before Wright was fired from the band. It was supported by a tour with elaborate theatrical effects, and adapted into a 1982 feature film, Pink Floyd – The Wall.

The Wall was Roger Waters‘ crowning accomplishment in Pink Floyd. It documented the rise and fall of a rock star (named Pink Floyd), based on Waters‘ own experiences and the tendencies he’d observed in people around him. By then, the bassist had firm control of the group’s direction, working mostly alongside David Gilmour and bringing in producer Bob Ezrin as an outside collaborator. Drummer Nick Mason was barely involved, while keyboardist Rick Wright seemed to be completely out of the picture. Still, The Wall was a mighty, sprawling affair, featuring 26 songs with vocals: nearly as many as all previous Floyd albums combined. The story revolves around the fictional Pink Floyd’s isolation behind a psychological wall. The wall grows as various parts of his life spin out of control, and he grows incapable of dealing with his neuroses. The album opens by welcoming the unwitting listener to Floyd’s show (“In the Flesh?”), then turns back to childhood memories of his father’s death in World War II (“Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 1”), his mother’s over protectiveness (“Mother”), and his fascination with and fear of sex (“Young Lust”). By the time “Goodbye Cruel World” closes the first disc, the wall is built and Pink is trapped in the midst of a mental breakdown. On disc two, the gentle acoustic phrasings of “Is There Anybody Out There?” and the lilting orchestrations of “Nobody Home” reinforce Floyd’s feeling of isolation. When his record company uses drugs to coax him to perform (“Comfortably Numb”), his onstage persona is transformed into a homophobic, race-baiting fascist (“In the Flesh”). In “The Trial,” he mentally prosecutes himself, and the wall comes tumbling down. This ambitious concept album was an across-the-board smash, topping the Billboard album chart for 15 weeks in 1980. The single “Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 2” was the country’s best-seller for four weeks. The Wall spawned an elaborate stage show (so elaborate, in fact, that the band was able to bring it to only a few cities) and a full-length film. It also marked the last time Waters and Gilmour would work together as equal partners.


Side one
1.  In the Flesh?  (3:19)
2.  The Thin Ice  (2:27)
3.  Another Brick in the Wall Part 1  (3:21)
4.  The Happiest Days of Our Lives  (1:46)
5.  Another Brick in the Wall Part 2  (4:00)
6.  Mother  (5:36)

Side two
1.  Goodbye Blue Sky  (2:45)
2.  Empty Spaces  (2:10)
3.  Young Lust  (3:25)
4.  One of My Turns  (3:35)
5.  Don’t Leave Me Now  (4:16)
6.  Another Brick in the Wall Part 3  (1:14)
7.  Goodbye Cruel World  (1:13)

Side three
1.  Hey You  (4:40)
2.  Is There Anybody Out There?  (2:44)
3.  Nobody Home  (3:26)
4.  Vera  (1:35)
5.  Bring the Boys Back Home  (1:21)
6.  Comfortably Numb  (6:24)

Side four
1.  The Show Must Go On  (1:36)
2.  In the Flesh  (4:13)
3.  Run Like Hell  (4:19)
4.  Waiting for the Worms  (4:04)
5.  Stop  (0:30)
6.  The Trial  (5:13)
7.  Outside the Wall  (1:41)

%d bloggers like this: