Skip to content

Posts from the ‘New Order’ Category


New Order – Power, Corruption & Lies (1983) – Lp

New Order are an English rock band formed in 1980, currently comprising Bernard Sumner, Stephen Morris, Gillian Gilbert, Phil Cunningham and Tom Chapman. The band was formed in 1980 by Sumner, Morris, and Peter Hook, who were the remaining members of post-punk group Joy Division.












Artist:  New Order
Title:  Power, Corruption & Lies
Year:  1983
Format:  LP
Label:  Base Record
Catalog#  FACT 75

Power, Corruption & Lies is the second studio album by the English rock band New Order, released in May 1983 on Factory Records. The album features more electronic-based tracks than their previous album Movement, with heavier use of synthesizers. It was included in the top 100 albums of the 1980s lists.

A great leap forward from their funereal debut album, Power, Corruption & Lies cemented New Order‘s place as the most exciting dance-rock hybrid in music (and it didn’t even include the massive “Blue Monday” single, released earlier that year). Confident and invigorating where Movement had sounded disconsolate and lost, the record simply pops with energy from the beginning “Age of Consent,” an alternative pop song with only a smattering of synthesizers overlaying an assured Bernard Sumner, who took his best vocal turn yet. Unlike the hordes of synth pop acts then active, New Order experimented heavily with their synthesizers and sequencers. What’s more, while most synth pop acts kept an eye on the charts when writing and recording, if New Order were looking anywhere (aside from within), it was the clubs — “The Village” and “586” had most of the technological firepower of the mighty “Blue Monday.” But whenever the electronics threatened to take over, Peter Hook‘s grubby basslines, Bernard Sumner‘s plaintive vocals, and Stephen Morris‘ point-perfect drum fills reintroduced the human element. Granted, they still had the will for moodiness; the second track was “We All Stand,” over five minutes of dubbed-out melancholia. Aside from all the bright dance music and production on display, Power, Corruption & Lies also portrayed New Order‘s growing penchant for beauty: “Your Silent Face” is a sublime piece of electronic balladry.


Side one
1.  Age of Consent  (5:16)
2.  We All Stand  (5:14)
3.  The Village  (4:37)
4.  586  (7:31)

Side two
1.  Your Silent Face  (6:00)
2.  Ultraviolence  (4:52)
3.  Ecstasy  (4:25)
4.  Leave Me Alone  (4:40)


New Order – Low-Life (1985) – Lp

New Order are an English electronic dance music band formed in 1980, currently consisting of founding members Bernard Sumner, Stephen Morris and Gillian Gilbert, alongside newer members Phil Cunningham and Tom Chapman.

new order - low life












Artist:  New Order
Title:  Low Life
Year:  1985
Format:  LP
Label:  Factory Records
Catalog#  FBN 100

“Low-Life” is the third studio album by English rock band New Order. Released in May 1985 by Factory Records, “Low-Life” is considered to be among New Order’s strongest work, displaying the moment in which the band completed its transformation from post-punk hold-overs to dance rock.

The album shows New Order’s increased incorporation of synthesizers and samplers, while still preserving the rock aspects of their earlier work. The album was preceded by the release of the full-length version of “The Perfect Kiss” as a single (only an edited version appears on the album).

The point where the band’s fusion of rock and electronics became seamless, it showed the bandmembers having it every way they wanted: heavily sequenced and synthesized, but with bravura work from Bernard Sumner’s guitar and Peter Hook’s plaintive, melodic bass; filled with hummable pop songs, but still experimental as far as how the productions were achieved. The melodica-led pop song “Love Vigilantes” was the opener, nearly identical as a standout first track to “Age of Consent” from “Power, Corruption & Lies”.

Even as more and more synth-heavy groups like Eurythmics and Pet Shop Boys began approaching New Order’s expertise with the proper care of electronics in pop music, the band still sounded like none other. “This Time of Night” and “Elegia” evoked the dark, nocturnal mood of the album’s title and artwork, but none could call them mopey when they pushed as hard as they did on “Sunrise.”
Only “Sub-Culture”, tucked in at the end, has the feel of a lost opportunity; remixed for a single release, it became much better.

The songs on this album formed the basis of New Order’s live concert video, “Pumped Full of Drugs”, filmed in Tokyo shortly before the album’s release. The track “This Time of Night” was originally titled “Pumped Full of Drugs”.


Side one
1.  Love Vigilantes  (4:20)
2.  The Perfect Kiss  (4:49)
3.  This Time Of Night  (4:45)
4.  Sunrise  (6:02)

Side two
1.  Elegia  (4:55)
2.  Sooner Than You Think  (5:13)
3.  Sub-culture  (4:58)
4.  Face Up  (5:07)

%d bloggers like this: