Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Neil Diamond’ Category


Neil Diamond – Stones (1971) – Lp

Neil Leslie Diamond (born January 24, 1941) is an American singer-songwriter, musician and actor. His career began in the 1960s and he has sold over 120 million records worldwide, making him one of the world’s best-selling artists of all time. Early in the 21st century, he was the third most successful adult contemporary artist in the history of the Billboard charts. His songs have been covered internationally by many performers from various musical genres.













Artist:  Neil Diamond
Title:  Stones
Year:  1971
Format:  LP
Label:  MCA Records
Catalog#  5C 062-95073

Stones is the seventh studio album by Neil Diamond, recorded and released in 1971. It was one of the biggest hit recordings of his career. The conductors and arrangers were Lee Holdridge, Marty Paich and Larry Muhoberac.
Driven by the hit singles “I Am…I Said” and “Crunchy Granola Suite,” Stones is a stronger album than most of Neil Diamond‘s late-’60s records. Instead of padding the album with mediocre originals, Diamond picked several fine covers to fill out the remainder of the album, including Roger Miller‘s “Husbands and Wives,” Joni Mitchell‘s “Chelsea Morning,” Leonard Cohen‘s “Suzanne,” Randy Newman‘s “I Think It’s Gonna Rain,” Jacques Brel‘s “If You Go Away,” and Tom Paxton‘s “The Last Thing on My Mind.” There are still a few weak patches on Stones, but the record remains an engaging collection of mainstream pop.


Side one
1.  I Am…I Said  (3:32)
2.  The Last Thing on My Mind  (3:31)
3.  Husbands and Wives  (3:54)
4.  Chelsea Morning  (2:32)
5.  Crunchy Granola Suite  (3:14)

Side two
1.  Stones  (3:02)
2.  If You Go Away  (3:47)
3.  Suzanne  (4:41)
4.  I Think It’s Gonna Rain Today  (2:36)
5.  I Am…I Said (Reprise)  (2:33)


Neil Diamond – Hot August Night (1972) – 2Lp

Neil Leslie Diamond (born January 24, 1941) is an American singer-songwriter and musician with a career that began in the 1960s.

neil diamond - hot august night












Artist:  Neil Diamond
Title:  Hot August Night
Year:  1972
Format:  2LP
Label:  MCA Records
Catalog#  MOV 5004

Hot August Night is a 1972 live double album by Neil Diamond (“Hot August night” is also the opening lyric to Diamond’s 1969 single “Brother Love’s Travelling Salvation Show“). The album is a recording of a Diamond concert on August 24, 1972, one of ten sold-out concerts that Diamond performed that month at The Greek Theatre in Los Angeles. This also marks the first album released by the newly formed MCA Records (a merging of the Uni, Kapp, and Decca labels).
This album, and its predecessor album Moods, are generally acknowledged to be the two most important recording projects of Diamond’s career in terms of defining his signature sound, and in the case of Hot August Night his live performance style, for the future.

This is the ultimate Neil Diamond record. Not necessarily the best — he’s at his most appealing crafting in the studio — but certainly the ultimate, capturing all the kitsch and glitz of Neil Diamond, the showman. And that also means that it’s not just loaded with flair, but with filler, songs like “Porcupine Pie,” “Soggy Pretzels,” and “And the Grass Won’t Pay No Mind” — attempts to write grand, sweeping epics that collapse under their own weight. Still, that’s part of the charm of Diamond and while it can sound unbearable on studio albums, it makes some sense here, surrounded by his pomp and circumstance. That spectacle is the great thing about the record, since it inflates not just his great songs, it gives the weaker moments character.


Side one
1.  Prologue  (2:58)
2.  Crunchy Granola Suite  (4:08)
3.  Done Too Soon / Dialogue (4:16)
4.  Solitary Man  (3:03)
5.  Cherry Cherry  (4:36)
6.  Sweet Caroline  (4:39)

Side two
1.  Porcupine Pie  (1:46)
2.  You’re So Sweet  (2:05)
3.  Red Red Wine  (3:34)
4.  Soggy Pretzels  (2:49)
5.  And The Grass Won’t Pay No Mind  (4:25)
6.  Shilo  (3:17)
7.  Girl You’ll Be A Woman Soon  (2:36)

Side three
1.  Play Me  (4:22)
2.  Canta Libre  (4:53)
3.  Morningside  (5:17)
4.  Song Sung Blue  (4:36)
5.  Cracklin’ Rosie  (2:38)

Side four
1.  Holly Holy  (5:23)
2.  I Am . . . I Said  (4:33)
3.  Walk Off  (1:13)
4.  Soolaimon–Brother Love’s Travelling Salvation Show  (8:14)
5.  Encore  (1:17)

%d bloggers like this: