Skip to content

Posts from the ‘John Lennon’ Category


John Lennon – Rock ´N´ Roll (1975) – Lp

John Winston Ono Lennon, (born John Winston Lennon; 9 October 1940 – 8 December 1980) was an English singer and songwriter who co-founded the Beatles, the most commercially successful band in the history of popular music. He and fellow member Paul McCartney formed a celebrated songwriting partnership.












Artist:  John Lennon
Title:  Rock ´N´ Roll
Year:  1975
Format:  LP
Label:  Apple Records
Catalog#  1A 062-05834

Rock ‘n’ Roll is the sixth studio album by John Lennon. Released in 1975, it is an album of late 1950s and early 1960s songs as covered by Lennon. Recording the album was problematic and spanned an entire year: Phil Spector produced sessions in October 1973 at A&M Studios, and Lennon produced sessions in October 1974 at Record Plant Studios (East). Lennon was being sued by Morris Levy over copyright infringement of one line in his song “Come Together“. As part of an agreement, Lennon had to include three Levy-owned songs on Rock ‘n’ Roll. Spector ran away with the session recordings, later being involved in a motor accident, which left the album’s tracks unrecoverable until the beginning of the Walls and Bridges sessions. With Walls and Bridges coming out first, featuring one Levy-owned song, Levy sued Lennon expecting to see Lennon’s Rock ‘n’ Roll album.

Although the chaotic sessions that spawned this album have passed into rock & roll legend and the recording’s very genesis (as an out-of-court settlement between John Lennon and an aggrieved publisher) has often caused it to be slighted by many of the singer’s biographers, Rock ‘n’ Roll, in fact, stands as a peak in his post-Imagine catalog: an album that catches him with nothing to prove and no need to try. Lennon could, after all, sing old rock & roll numbers with his mouth closed; he spent his entire career relaxing with off-the-cuff blasts through the music with which he grew up, and Rock ‘n’ Roll emerges the sound of him doing precisely that. Four songs survive from the fractious sessions with producer Phil Spector in late 1973 that ignited the album, and listeners to any of the posthumous compilations that also draw from those archives will know that the best tracks were left on the shelf — “Be My Baby” and “Angel Baby” among them. But a gorgeous run through Lloyd Price‘s “Just Because” wraps up the album in fine style, while a trip through “You Can’t Catch Me” contrarily captures a playful side that Lennon rarely revealed on vinyl. The remainder of the album was cut a year later with Lennon alone at the helm, and the mood remains buoyant. It might not, on first glance, seem essential to hear him running through nuggets like “Be Bop A Lula,” “Peggy Sue,” and “Bring It on Home to Me,” but, again, Lennon has seldom sounded so gleeful as he does on these numbers, while the absence of the Spector trademark Wall-of-Sound production is scarcely noticeable — as the object of one of Lennon‘s own productions, David Peel once pointed out, “John had the Wall of Sound down perfectly himself.”


Side one
1.  Be-Bop-A-Lula  (2:36)
2.  Stand By Me  (3:29)
3.  Rip It Up/Ready Teddy  (1:39)
4.  You Can’t Catch Me  (4:51)
5.  Ain’t That A Shame  (2:31)
6.  Do You Want To Dance  (2:51)
7.  Sweet Little Sixteen  (3:00)

Side two
1.  Slippin’ And Slidin’  (2:16)
2.  Peggy Sue  (2:02)
3.  Bring It On Home/Send Me Some Lovin’  (3:40)
4.  Bony Moronie  (3:40)
5.  Ya Ya  (2:17)
6.  Just Because  (4:25)

%d bloggers like this: