Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Jeffrey Osborne’ Category


Jeffrey Osborne – Jeffrey Osborne (1982) – Lp

Jeffrey Linton Osborne (born March 9, 1948) is an American musician, singer-songwriter, lyricist and lead singer of the band, LTD.












Artist:  Jeffrey Osborne
Title:  Jeffrey Osborne
Year:  1982
Format:  LP
Label:  A&M Records
Catalog# AMHL 64896

Jeffrey Osborne is the self-titled debut album from Jeffrey Osborne, released in 1982 on A&M after leaving L.T.D. for a solo career.

As vocalist for the group L.T.D., Osborne‘s booming voice led hits like “Love Ballad,” “Where Did We Go Wrong,” and “Shine On.” The group enjoyed constant success and offered a catalog of well-executed and classic albums including 1977’s Something to Love and Togetherness from 1978. In 1982 it came as a complete shock when Osborne made his solo bid. Unlike countless other acts who did the same thing, his self-titled release proves that it was a great decision. Producer George Duke offered Osborne an up-to-the-minute sound with a collection of great studio players ranging from drummer Steve Ferrone to bassist Louis Johnson. That being said, a few of the tracks here don’t play to Osborne‘s strengths as a committed and slightly quirky vocalist. “New Love” and “Eeenie Meenie” are so proficient yet by the numbers anyone could have sung them. The best tracks on this album give him the needed challenges that make him soar. The first single, the moody and rhythmic “Really Don’t Need No Light,” co-written by Osborne and David “Hawk” Wolinski, benefits from a string arrangement from George Del Barrio. The ballad “You Were Made to Love” not only perfectly captures Duke‘s uncluttered and precise production style, it also plays to Osborne‘s emotionality. The last track, “Congratulations,” is a great tearjerker that has Osborne‘s reserve and intellect making it that much better. This is an impressive solo debut from one of R&B and pop’s best vocalists.


Side one
1. New Love  (4:10)
2. Eenie Meenie  (4:23)
3. I Really Don’t Need No Light  (3:40)
4. On The Wings Of Love  (4:00)
5. Ready For Your Love  (3:59)

Side two
1. Who You Talkin’ To  (3:51)
2. You Were Made To Love  (3:11)
3. Ain’t Nothin’ Missin’  (4:09)
4. Baby  (4:18)
5. Congratulations  (2:56)

%d bloggers like this: