Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Ennio Morricone’ Category


Ennio Morricone – Once Upon A Time In The West (1969) – Lp

Ennio Morricone; (born 10 November 1928) is an Italian composer, orchestrator, conductor, and former trumpet player. He composes a wide range of music styles, making him one of the most versatile, experimental and influential composers of all time, working in any medium. Since 1946 Morricone has composed over 500 scores for cinema and television, as well as over 100 classical works.













Artist:  Ennio Morricone
Title:  Once Upon A Time In The West
Year:  1969
Format:  LP
Label:  RCA Victor Records
Catalog#  440751

Once Upon a Time in the West is a soundtrack composed by Ennio Morricone, from the 1968 western film of the same name directed by Sergio Leone, released in 1972. The film score sold about 10 million copies worldwide.
The soundtrack features leitmotifs that relate to each of the main characters of the movie (each with their own theme music), as well as to the spirit of the American West. The theme music for the Claudia Cardinale character has wordless vocals by Italian singer Edda Dell’Orso.
It was Leone’s desire to have the music available and played during filming. Leone had Morricone compose the score before shooting started and would play the music in the background for the actors on set.
Arguably a milestone for both director Sergio Leone and his musical cohort Ennio Morricone. After deconstructing the classic American western by way of The Good, the Bad & the Ugly and A Fistful of Dollars, Leone distilled his intentions with 1968’s Once Upon a Time in the West. For his part, Morricone framed Leone‘s meditative camerawork and mythic narrative with a mix of hauntingly spacious pieces and reconfigured snatches of old-timey tunes. Just within the stretch of the first four pieces here, Morricone evokes the endless expanse of the West with a Copland-esque aria (the main title theme), weaves some twisted grit into the showdown theme with loads of guitar fuzz (“As a Judgment”), ingeniously combines whistling and a clippity-clop rhythm for a respite piece (“Farewell to Cheyenne”), and conjures the surreal end of the cowboy mythos via a wonderfully disjointed serial-style number (“The Transgression”). And whether sounding upbeat or stark, Morricone informs it all with the dry and windswept vacancy of the West. Beautiful and stunning.


Side one
1.  Het Gebeurde In Het Westen (Il Était Une Fois Dans L’Ouest)  (3:37)
2.  Come Una Sentenza  (3:50)
3.  Addio A Cheyenne  (2:32)
4.  L’Attentato  (4:37)
5.  La Posada No 1  (1:32)
6.  La Posada No 2  (1:30)

Side two
1.  L’Homme A L’Harmonica  (3:25)
2.  In Una Stanza Con Poca Luce  (4:40)
3.  L’Orchestraccia  (2:20)
4.  L’Uomo  (1:00)
5.  L’America Di Jill  (2:45)
6.  L’Ultimo Rantolo  (1:40)
7.  Finale  (4:10)

%d bloggers like this: