Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Elton John’ Category


Elton John – The Fox (1981) – Lp

Sir Elton Hercules John, CBE, (born Reginald Kenneth Dwight; 25 March 1947 is an English singer, pianist, and composer.












Artist:  Elton John
Title:  The Fox
Year:  1981
Format:  LP
Label:  The Rocket Record Company
Catalog#  6302106

The early ’80s were not a particularly focused time in Elton John‘s career. The Fox (1981) is a reflection of the tentative regrouping that began on his previous effort, 21 at 33 (1979). In fact, a third of the material was left over from the same August 1979 sessions. This results in dithering musical styles and ultimately yields an uneven and at times somewhat dated sound. The reunion with Bernie Taupin (lyrics) that commenced on 21 at 33 is once again sparsely tapped. He contributes the tepid “Heels of the Wind” as well as “Just Like Belgium,” which foreshadows the pair’s future lightweight efforts such as “Nikita.” Slightly more promising, however, is the midtempo rocker “Fascist Faces” — which may well be a nod to David Bowie‘s infamous “Britain could benefit from a fascist leader” statement. The album’s introspective title track instantly recalls the slightly bittersweet “Curtains” coda from Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboys (1975). Gary Osborne and Elton John‘s collaborations were beginning to yield some impressive results, including “Heart in the Right Place” — which could easily have been a follow-up to the slinky Caribou (1974) track “Stinker.” The tender “Chloe” conclusion to the “Carla/Etude/Fanfare” medley became one of two tracks extracted as singles. The other, “Nobody Wins,” sports a Euro-beat flavor and was adapted from a French techno-pop hit by Osborne and Jean-Paul Dreau. According to John, the dark and noir “Elton’s Song” remains a favorite, and he very occasionally revives it for live performances.


Side one
1. Breaking Down Barriers  (4:41)
2. Heart In The Right Place  (5:15)
3. Just Like Belgium  (4:09)
4. Nobody Wins  (3:40)
5. Facist Faces  (5:12)

Side two
1. Carla Etude / Fanfare / Chloe  (10:53)
2. Heels Of The Wind  (3:53)
3. Elton’s Song  (3:00)
4. The Fox  (5:13)


Elton John – Blue Moves (1976) – 2 Lp

Sir Elton Hercules John, CBE (born Reginald Kenneth Dwight; 25 March 1947) is an English singer-songwriter, musician and composer. He has worked with lyricist Bernie Taupin as his songwriting partner since 1967; they have collaborated on more than 30 albums to date. In his five-decade career Elton John has sold more than 300 million records, making him one of the best-selling music artists in the world.













Artist:  Elton John
Title:  Blue Moves
Year:  1976
Format:  2LP
Label:  The Rocket Record Company
Catalog#  5C 152-98293

Blue Moves, released October 1976, is the eleventh official album release for Elton John. It was the second Elton John double album (after Goodbye Yellow Brick Road), and the first released by John’s own Rocket Records Ltd. Despite the album’s darker tone and a wave of negative reviews, in its initial release made it to No. 3 on the album charts, partly on the strength of the album’s biggest hit single “Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word“.

While giving a concert at Wembley Arena to promote the album, John announced “I haven’t been touring for a long time. It’s been a painful decision, whether to come back on the road or not… I’ve made a decision tonight – this is going to be the last show… There’s a lot more to me than playing on the road.” He accordingly left the touring/live performing scene. Kenny Passarelli, Caleb Quaye, James Newton-Howard and Roger Pope left the band after the album’s release. Newton-Howard would briefly rejoin Elton’s touring band in 1980. Only Davey Johnstone and Ray Cooper returned in limited roles for John’s next album, A Single Man.

John has stated that Blue Moves is one of his favourite albums he has ever recorded. It was Gus Dudgeon‘s last album produced with John for almost a decade. The cover art is from a painting by British artist Patrick Procktor. In the US, it was certified gold in October and platinum in December 1976 by the RIAA.

Cage the Songbird” was a tribute to legendary French songstress Edith Piaf, and a year or so later was covered by Kiki Dee on an unreleased Rocket album, which finally was issued in 2008. (“Songbird” originated as part of the Rock of the Westies sessions, but wasn’t completed during them, probably because the song’s more acoustic, delicate sound didn’t fit with the more rock ‘n roll approach to the rest of the songs that made the Rock of the Westies final line-up.) The Beach Boys turned down “Chameleon” (which was written two years prior to the album’s release), but Bruce Johnston, a former Beach Boy, performed backing vocals on John’s version along with Toni Tennille. John also performed the song at Wembley Stadium in 1975, where he also performed the Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy album in its entirety.


Side one
1.  Your Starter for…   (1:23)
2.  Tonight   (7:52)
3.  One Horse Town   (5:56)
4.  Chameleon   (5:27)

Side two
1.  Boogie Pilgrim   (6:05)
2.  Cage the Songbird   (3:25)
3.  Crazy Water   (5:42)
4.  Shoulder Holster   (5:10)

Side three
1.  Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word   (3:48)
2.  Out of the Blue   (6:14)
3.  Between Seventeen and Twenty   (5:17)
4.  The Wide-Eyed and Laughing   (3:27)
5.  Someone’s Final Song   (4:10)

Side four
1.  Where’s the Shoorah?   (4:09)
2.  If There’s a God in Heaven (What’s He Waiting For?)   (4:25)
3.  Idol   (4:08)
4.  Theme from a Non-Existent TV Series   (1:19)
5.  Bite Your Lip (Get Up and Dance!)   (6:43)

%d bloggers like this: