Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Echo & The Bunnymen’ Category


Echo & The Bunnymen – Porcupine (1983) – Lp

Echo & the Bunnymen are an English rock band formed in Liverpool in 1978. The original line-up consisted of vocalist Ian McCulloch, guitarist Will Sergeant and bass player Les Pattinson, supplemented by a drum machine. By 1980, Pete de Freitas joined as the band’s drummer.













Artist:  Echo & The Bunnymen
Title:  Porcupine
Year:  1983
Format:  LP
Label:  Korova Records
Catalog#  240027-1

Porcupine is the third studio album by the English post-punk band Echo & the Bunnymen. First released on 4 February 1983, it became the band’s highest charting release when it reached number two on the UK Albums Chart despite initially receiving poor reviews. It also reached number 137 on the American Billboard 200, number 85 on the Canadian RPM 100 Albums and number 24 on the Swedish chart. In 1984 the album was certified gold by the British Phonographic Industry. Porcupine included the singlesThe Back of Love” and “The Cutter“.

The album was recorded at Trident Studios in London, Rockfield Studios in South Wales and Amazon Studios in Liverpool. It was produced by Ian Broudie, who was credited as “Kingbird” and who had co-produced the band’s first album, 1980’s Crocodiles, and their second single, “Rescue“. After being rejected by the band’s label, the album was re-recorded with Shankar providing strings.

Songs are intriguing and elaborate, often featuring swooping, howling melodic lines. Arrangements here owe a lot to 1960s psychedelia and feature lots of reverb, washed textures, intricate production touches, and altered guitar sounds. Ian McCulloch‘s vocals are yearning, soaring, and hyper-expressive here, almost to the point of being histrionic, most notably on “Clay,” “Ripeness,” and the title track. Driving bass and drums lend the songs urgency and keep the music from collapsing into self-indulgence. Parallels between the group’s U.S. contemporaries such as Translator, Wire Train, and R.E.M. can be drawn, though all seem to have developed aspects of this style at about the same time — and none utilize it as flamboyantly as the Bunnymen do. Highlights here include “Back of Love” (with its galloping drumbeat and fragmented yet ardent vocal line) and “Gods Will Be Gods” (which gradually speeds up from beginning to end, working itself into a swirling frenzy).


Side one
1.  The Cutter  (3:50)
2.  Back Of Love  (3:12)
3.  My White Devil  (4:30)
4.  Clay  (4:10)
5.  Porcupine  (5:55)

Side two
1.  Heads Will Roll  (3:28)
2.  Ripeness  (4:46)
3.  Higher Hell  (5:00)
4.  Gods Will Be Gods  (4:10)
5.  In Bluer Skies  (5:55)

%d bloggers like this: