Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Diana Ross’ Category


Diana Ross – Diana (1980) – Lp


Diana Ernestine Earle Ross (born March 26, 1944) is an American singer, songwriter, actress, superstar and record producer. Born and raised in Detroit, Michigan, Ross rose to fame as the lead singer of the vocal group The Supremes. Following her departure from The Supremes in 1970, Ross released her eponymous debut solo album that same year.












Artist:  Diana Ross
Title:  Diana
Year:  1980
Format:  LP
Label:  Motown Records
Catalog#  1A 062-63765

Diana (stylized as diana) is the tenth studio solo album by  Diana Ross, released on May 22, 1980 by Motown Records. The album is the biggest-selling studio album of Ross’s career.

Diana Ross would probably be offended by anyone who called her 1980 smash Diana a comeback, but let’s face it — after the flop of The Wiz, and the way that the disco revolution steamrollered so many of her Motown compatriots’ careers, that’s exactly what it was. Wisely hooking up with Chic’s Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards (both the most traditionally rooted and most fearless of the major disco-era producers), Ross sounds more forceful than she had in years. The helium-toned style of her early hits with the Supremes is worlds away from the assertive way she rips into the funky hit “Upside Down.” Even better, the joyous, celebratory “I’m Coming Out” is probably the best solo track of her career, and the heartfelt “Now That You’re Gone” is one of her most subtle ballads. The glossy Chic production might sound a bit dated to some ears, but it’s matured much better than many similar albums of the era. Overall, this is, in many ways, Diana Ross’ best solo record.


Side one
1. Upside Down  (4:05)
2. Tenderness  (3:50)
3. Friend To Friend  (3:19)
4. I’m Coming Out  (5:23)

Side two
1. Have Fun (Again)  (5:57)
2. My Old Piano  (3:57)
3. Now That You’re Gone  (3:58)
4. Give Up  (3:45)


Diana Ross – Mahogany Soundtrack (1975) – Lp

Diane Ernestine Earle Ross (born March 26, 1944), known professionally as Diana Ross, is an American singer, songwriter, actress, and record producer. Born and raised in Detroit, she rose to fame as the lead singer of the vocal group The Supremes. and her departure from the Supremes in 1970.













Artist:  Diana Ross
Title:  Mahogany Soundtrack
Year:  1975
Format:  LP
Label:  Tamla Motown Records
Catalog#  5C 062-97105

Mahogany was the second original motion picture soundtrack by Diana Ross, following her 1972 release Lady Sings the Blues. The soundtrack from the film Mahogany (her second film, following Lady Sings the Blues) included the chart-topping single “Theme from Mahogany (Do You Know Where You’re Going To)“, which peaked at number-one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in January 1976.

The Michael Masser produced tracks (that begin the album with Diana Ross’ vocal version of “Do You Know Where You’re Going To”) are the most stirring pieces full of captivating melodies and dramatic orchestration. A highlight of this album is “My Hero Is A Gun”. It’s a tense piece where orchestral effects come together with contemporary funk elements, a common combination in those days, but one that ranks as a classic.
Towards the end of the album things continue to become more funk-oriented. Starting with “Erucu”, an awesome contribution written and produced by Jermaine Jackson. The groove continues into the Gil Askey produced tracks (“Let’s Go Back To Day One” and “She’s The Ideal Girl”) which all make for a nice change of pace. Gil Askey also contributes a little bit of mellow lite-jazz in “Tracy” and “Sweets..”.
Things end with the “Mahogany Suite” which is essentially a different, more spacious arrangement of the “Mahogany Theme” (Do You Know Where You’re Going To) which effectively brings it to a sweeping dramatic finish.


Side one
1.  Theme From Mahogany (Do You Know Where You Going To)  (3:17)
2.  Feeling Again   (3:16)
3.  You Don’t Ever Have To Be Alone   (2:34)
4.  Can You Hear It In My Music   (3:32)
5.  Christian’s Theme   (1:40)
6.  After You   (2:13)
7.  Theme From Mahogany (Do You Know Where You Going To) Instrumental   (2:46)

Side two
1.  My Hero Is A Gun   (3:16)
2.  Cat Fight  (1:28)
3.  Erucu  (1:23)
4.  Let’s Go Back To Day One  (1:36)
5.  Tracy  (2:09)
6.  She’s The Ideal Girl  (2:43)
7.  Sweets (And Other Things)  (1:52)
8.  Mahogany Suite   (5:29)


Diana Ross – Ross (1983) – Lp

Diana Ernestine Earle Ross (born March 26, 1944) is an American singer, songwriter, actress and record producer. Born and raised in Detroit, she rose to fame as a founding member and lead singer of the vocal group The Supremes, which, during the 1960s, became Motown’s most successful act and is to this day.

diana ross - ross












Artist:  Diana Ross
Title:  Ross
Year:  1983
Format:  LP
Label:  Capitol Records
Catalog#  1C 064-1867051

Ross is a 1983 album by the American entertainer Diana Ross, her third released on the RCA label. It was released shortly before Ross gave a pair of free concerts in New York’s Central Park.

Five of the eight tracks were produced by Gary Katz, two by Ray Parker Jr and one by Ross. The album’s first single, “Pieces of Ice”, peaked at #31 on the US charts. Subsequent singles “Up Front” (US R&B #60, UK #79) and “Let’s Go Up” (US #77) were also minor hits.

A noble, if failed, experiment. Diana Ross teamed up with Steely Dan producer Gary Katz for this, her third outing on RCA. Katz brought in the usual suspects, not only buddies like Michael McDonald and Donald Fagen (each of whom contributed a song and keyboards), but also session aces like Jeff Porcaro and Greg Phillinganes. The result, on the five tracks Katz handled, has that precise, icy sound those guys always get, not a sound that meshes well with Ross. No better are the two tracks contributed by Ray Parker, Jr., or Ross‘ own effort, “Girls,” which closes things out. As a result, Ross was Diana Ross‘ first album since 1978 not to even go gold. (Not to be confused with Diana Ross‘ 1978 album [Motown 907] of the same name.)


Side one
1.  That’s How You Start Over  (4:09)
2.  Love Will Make It Right  (4:44)
3.  You Do It  (4:31)
4.  Pieces Of Ice (4:54)

Side two
1.  Let’s Go Up  (4:01)
2.  Love Or Loneliness  (4:17)
3.  Up Front  (3:56)
4.  Girls  (3:58)

%d bloggers like this: