Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Bruce Springsteen’ Category


Bruce Springsteen – Born In The U.S.A. (1984)

Bruce Frederick Joseph Springsteen (born September 23, 1949) is an American singer-songwriter. He is known for his work with the E Street Band. Nicknamed “The Boss”, Springsteen is widely known for his brand of poetic lyrics, Americana, working class and sometimes political sentiments centered on his native New Jersey, his distinctive voice, and his lengthy and energetic stage performances—with concerts from the 1970s to the present decade running at up to four hours in length.












Artist:  Bruce Springsteen
Title:  Born In The U.S.A.
Year:  1984
Format:  LP
Label:  CBS Records
Catalog#  CBS 86304

Born in the U.S.A. is the seventh studio album by American rock singer-songwriter Bruce Springsteen. It was released on June 4, 1984, by Columbia Records. It was written by Springsteen and recorded with his E Street Band and producers Chuck Plotkin and Jon Landau at The Power Station and The Hit Factory in New York City.

Born in the U.S.A. showed Springsteen embracing a livelier mainstream sound than on his previous records but continued to express progressive themes and values in his lyrics. It´s a “defiantly rock ‘n’ roll” album,  incorporated “electronic textures” with music he “kept as its heart all of the American rock & roll from the early Sixties”. Although Springsteen’s previous record Nebraska had darker songs, he said Born in the U.S.A. was not entirely different: “If you look at the material, particularly on the first side, it’s actually written very much like Nebraska – the characters and the stories, the style of writing – except it’s just in the rock-band setting.” Springsteen considered leaving “No Surrender” off of the album, explaining that “you don’t hold out and triumph all the time in life. … You compromise, you suffer defeat; you slip into life’s gray areas.” E Street Band guitarist Steven Van Zandt convinced Springsteen otherwise: “He argued that the portrait of friendship and the song’s expression of the inspirational power of rock music was an important part of the picture.”

The title track of the album inspired the Annie Leibovitz photo of Springsteen’s backside against the backdrop of an American flag, which was used as the album cover. Springsteen commented on the origin of the concept: “We had the flag on the cover because the first song was called “Born in the U.S.A.”, and the theme of the record kind of follows from the themes I’ve been writing about for at least the last six or seven years. But the flag is a powerful image, and when you set that stuff loose, you don’t know what’s gonna be done with it.” Some people thought that the cover depicted Springsteen urinating on the flag. He denied it: “That was unintentional. We took a lot of different types of pictures, and in the end, the picture of my ass looked better than the picture of my face, that’s what went on the cover. I didn’t have any secret message. I don’t do that very much.” According to political writer Peter Dreier, the music’s “pop-oriented” sound and the marketing of Springsteen as “a heavily muscled rocker with an album cover featuring a giant US flag, may have overshadowed the album’s radical politics.


Side one
1.  Born in the U.S.A. (4:39)
2.  Cover Me (3:27)
3.  Darlington County (4:48)
4.  Working on the Highway (3:11)
5.  Downbound Train (3:35)
6.  I’m on Fire (2:37)

Side two
1.  No Surrender (4:00)
2.  Bobby Jean (3:46)
3.  I’m Goin’ Down (3:29)
4.  Glory Days (4:15)
5.  Dancing in the Dark (4:00)
6.  My Hometown (4:34)


Bruce Springsteen – The River (1980) – 2Lp

Bruce Frederick Joseph Springsteen (born September 23, 1949) is an American musician, singer, songwriter, and humanitarian. He is best known for his work with his E Street Band. Nicknamed “The Boss”, Springsteen is widely known for his brand of poetic lyrics, Americana, working class and sometimes political sentiments centered on his native New Jersey, his distinctive voice and his lengthy and energetic stage performances.













Artist:  Bruce Springsteen
Title:  The River
Year:  1980
Format:  2LP
Label:  CBS Records
Catalog#  88510

The River is the fifth studio album by Bruce Springsteen, released on October 17, 1980 on Columbia Records. Springsteen’s sole double album, The River was produced by Jon Landau, Springsteen and bandmate Steven Van Zandt.

After taking his early urban folk tales of cars and girls as far as he could on Born to Run, Bruce Springsteen took a long, hard look at the lives of those same Jersey street kids a few years down the line, now saddled with adult responsibilities and realizing that the American Dream was increasingly out of their grasp, on 1978’s Darkness on the Edge of Town, an album that dramatically broadened Springsteen‘s musical range and lyrical scope. With 1980’s The River, Springsteen sought to expand on those themes while also offering more of the tough, bar-band rock that was his trademark (and often conspicuous in its absence on Darkness), and by the time it was released it had swelled into Springsteen‘s first two-LP set. The River was Springsteen‘s most ambitious work to date, even as the music sounded leaner and more strongly rooted in rock & roll tradition than anything on Darkness or Born to Run, and though the album wasn’t the least bit short on good times, the fun in songs like “Two Hearts,” “Out in the Street,” and “Cadillac Ranch” is rarely without some weightier subtext. As the romantic rush of “Two Hearts” fades into the final break with family on “Independence Day” and the sentimentality of “I Wanna Marry You” is followed by the grim truths of the title tune, nothing is easy or without consequence in Springsteen‘s world, and the album’s themes of youthful ideals buckling under the weight of crushing reality are neatly summed up as Springsteen asks the essential question of his career, “Is a dream a lie if it don’t come true?” Like many double albums, The River doesn’t always balance well, and while the first half is consistently strong, part two is full of songs that work individually but don’t cohere into a satisfying whole (and “Wreck on the Highway” is beautiful but fails to resolve the album’s essential themes). But if the sequencing is somewhat flawed, Springsteen rises to his own challenges as a songwriter, penning a set of tunes that are heartfelt and literate but unpretentious while rocking hard, and the E Street Band were never used to better advantage, capturing the taut, swaggering force of their live shows in the studio with superb accuracy (and if the very ’80s snare crack dates this album, Neil Dorfsman‘s engineering makes this one of Springsteen‘s best-sounding works). The River wasn’t Springsteen‘s first attempt to make a truly adult rock & roll album, but it’s certainly a major step forward from Darkness on the Edge of Town, and he rarely made an album as compelling as this, or one that rewards repeat listening as well.

Rolling Stone ranked it at number 253 on their list of the greatest albums of all time.


Side 1
1.  The Ties That Bind  (3:34)
2.  Sherry Darling  (4:03)
3.  Jackson Cage  (3:04)
4.  Two Hearts  (2:45)
5.  Independence Day  (4:50)

Side 2
1.  Hungry Heart  (3:19)
2.  Out in the Street  (4:17)
3.  Crush on You  (3:10)
4.  You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch)  (2:37)
5.  I Wanna Marry You  (3:30)
6.  The River  (5:01)

Side 3
1.  Point Blank  (6:06)
2.  Cadillac Ranch  (3:03)
3.  I’m a Rocker  (3:36)
4.  Fade Away  (4:46)
5.  Stolen Car  (3:54)

Side 4
1.  Ramrod  (4:05)
2.  The Price You Pay  (5:29)
3.  Drive All Night  (8:33)
4.  Wreck on the Highway  (3:54)

%d bloggers like this: