Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Blondie’ Category


Debbie Harry/Blondie – Once More Into The Bleach (1988)

by Record Facts

Deborah Ann Harry (born Angela Tremble; July 1, 1945) is an American singer, songwriter, and actress, known as the lead singer of the new wave band Blondie. Her recordings with the band reached the number-one position in the United States and the United Kingdom on multiple occasions from 1978 to 1981. She is considered the first rapper to chart at number one in the U.S. owing to her work on “Rapture“. Harry achieved success (mainly in Europe) as a solo artist before reforming Blondie in the late 1990s.

Once More into the Bleach is a remix album released in December 1988 by the band Blondie and Debbie Harry.The 9-track compilation contains remixes of Blondie songs and material from Debbie Harry‘s solo career.
The title of the album is a pun on a line from Henry V, a history play by William Shakespeare, “once more unto the breach”, with a nod to hair bleach.
Though Debbie Harry has generally worked in a pop/rock vein, she’s had her share of exposure in dance clubs thanks to hits like “Heart of Glass,” “Rapture,” and the Chic-produced “Backfired.” In 1988 — a few years after she had left Chrysalis — the label set out to exploit her club/dance appeal with Once More Into the Bleach, a generally decent, though not exceptional, collection of remixes. Those singles were obvious choices for this CD, which ranges from Blondie classics (including “Call Me,” “Sunday Girl,” and “The Tide Is High”) to such solo material as “Feel the Spin” and the humorous “French Kissin’ in the USA.” The most interesting remixes here include a house-influenced version of “Backfired,” and a Europop recasting of “Denis.” But despite its strong points, Bleach is a collection that only the more devoted Blondie/Harry fanatics and club/dance DJs should look into. Those checking her out for the first time would be much better off with 1976’s Blondie or 1978’s Parallel Lines.

European edition

1. “Rapture” (Teddy Riley and Gene Griffin Remix)  (Harry, Stein) – 6:58
2. “Call Me” (Ben Liebrand Remix)  (Moroder, Harry) – 7:00
3. “Heart of Glass” (Shep Pettibone Remix)  (Harry, Stein) – 6:40
4. “The Tide Is High” (Coldcut Remix)  (Holt, Barrett, Evans) – 5:35
5. “Denis” (Dancin’ Danny D Remix)  (Levenson) – 5:20
6. “Feel the Spin” (extended dance mix)  (Benitez, Toni C., Harry) – 6:50
7. “In Love with Love” (Justin Strauss and Murray Elias Remix)  (Harry, Stein) – 7:12
8. “Backfired” (Bruce Forrest and Frank Heller Remix)  (Rodgers, Edwards) – 6:03
9. “French Kissin’ in the USA” (French version)  (Chuck Lorre) – 5:10


Released: December 1988
Recorded: 1978–1988
Genre: Rock, pop, new wave
Length: 57:25

Label – Chrysalis Records

%d bloggers like this: