Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Beach Boys’ Category


The Beach Boys – 15 Big Ones (1976) – Lp

The Beach Boys are an American rock band formed in Hawthorne, California in 1961. The group’s original lineup consisted of brothers Brian, Dennis, and Carl Wilson, their cousin Mike Love, and their friend Al Jardine.

the beach boys - 15 big ones












Artist:  The Beach Boys
Title:  15 Big Ones
Year:  1976
Format:  LP
Label:  Reprise Records
Catalog#  REP 54079

“15 Big Ones” is the twentieth studio album by American rock group The Beach Boys, released in July 1976.

It was their first studio album in three years and the first Brian Wilson-produced album released by the band since “Pet Sounds”, ten years earlier.
This is also the first album to feature the classic lineup of the Beach Boys (Brian Wilson, Mike Love, Carl Wilson, Dennis Wilson and Al Jardine) since the mid 1960s with Bruce Johnston’s mild departure from the group.

The album that followed, “15 Big Ones”, balanced covers of rock and doo wop standards with seven new Beach Boys songs (including five Brian Wilson compositions). Most of the covers are mistakes, part of a misguided attempt by the aging Beach Boys to recapture the energy of their youth. The “contemporary” production techniques and overly polished sound do nothing for these oldies, and effectively sap them of any energy they might once have had.
And the choices including Chuck Berry’s “Rock and Roll Music,” the Dixie Cups’ “Chapel of Love,” Fats Domino’s “Blueberry Hill,” Freddy Cannon’s “Palisades Park” are simply too well known to be reworked effectively, by anyone. The only one that succeeds is the closer, the lesser-known Righteous Brothers hit “Just Once in My Life,” given an emotional reading by Carl and Brian.

Of the band originals, the good-time standard “It’s OK” and the quirky, endearing “Had to Phone Ya” are excellent, reminiscent of Brian’s odd pop songs on late-’60s albums like “Friends” and “20/20“.

Most of the other originals are quite inferior though, including the silly history-of-music salute “That Same Song,” Al Jardine’s “Susie Cincinnati,” and the meditation primer “T M Song.”


Side one
1.  Rock And Roll Music  (2:26)
2.  It’s O.K.  (2:18)
3.  Had To Phone Ya  (2:13)
4.  Chapel Of Love  (2:34)
5.  Everyone’s In Love With You  (2:40)
6.  Talk To Me  (2:13)
7.  That Same Song  (2:14)
8.  T M Song  (1:34)

Side two
1.  Palisades Park  (2:29)
2.  Susie Cincinnati  (2:55)
3.  A Casual Look  (2:43)
4.  Blueberry Hill  (3:01)
5.  Back Home  (2:47)
6.  In The Still Of The Night  (3:01)
7.  Just Once In My Life  (3:34)

%d bloggers like this: