Skip to content

May 30, 2017

Stevie Wonder – Original Musiquarium (1982) – 2Lp

by Record Facts

Stevland Hardaway Morris (born Stevland Hardaway Judkins; May 13, 1950), known by his stage name Stevie Wonder, is an American musician, singer, songwriter, record producer, and multi-instrumentalist. A child prodigy, he is considered to be one of the most critically and commercially successful musical performers of the late 20th century.












Artist:  Stevie Wonder
Title:  Original Musiquarium
Year:  1982
Format:  2LP
Label:  Motown Records
Catalog#  428009

Stevie Wonder’s Original Musiquarium I is a compilation album by R&B/soul musician Stevie Wonder that was released in 1982 by Tamla Records. It collects eleven Top 40 hit singles and five album tracks, including four tracks from 1972 to 1980.

The double-album Original Musiquarium I summarizes Stevie Wonder‘s classic period of the ’70s, concentrating primarily on the hits, but adding a few album tracks to hint at the depth of his albums, as well as four new songs (one for each side, all pleasant, none particularly remarkable).

Eleven previously released tracks were taken as singles from their respective albums, with “Higher Ground” and “Master Blaster (Jammin’)” released before the LP. “Isn’t She Lovely” was not released as a single from Songs in the Key of Life, while “Superstition“, “You Are the Sunshine of My Life“, “You Haven’t Done Nothin’“, “I Wish“, and “Sir Duke” all topped the Billboard Hot 100. “Living for the City” and “Boogie On Reggae Woman” appear in slightly different versions to those on their albums, and “You Are the Sunshine of My Life” is the single mix with the horns added.

The album also included four new songs, each tagged on as the last track on each album side: “Front Line“, “Ribbon in the Sky“, “That Girl“, and “Do I Do“. The latter track features a solo by bebop innovator Dizzy Gillespie.


Side one
1.  Superstition  (4:25)
2.  You Haven’t Done Nothin’  (3:29)
3.  Living For The City  (7:26)
4.  Front Line  (5:56)

Side two
1.  Superwoman (Where Were You When I Needed You)  (7:27)
2.  Send One Your Love  (4:02)
3.  You Are The Sunshine Of My Life  (2:51)
4.  Ribbon In The Sky  (5:35)

Side three
1.  Higher Ground  (3:46)
2.  Sir Duke  (3:52)
3.  Master Blaster (Jammin’)  (5:08)
4.  Boogie On Reggae Woman  (4:55)
5.  That Girl  (5:15)

Side four
1.  I Wish  (4:12)
2.  Isn’t She Lovely  (6:32)
3.  Do I Do  (10:27)

Read more from Stevie Wonder

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments