Skip to content

January 3, 2017

The Sugarhill Gang – 8th Wonder (1982) – Lp

by Record Facts

The Sugarhill Gang is an American hip hop group, known mostly for its 1979 hitRapper’s Delight,” the first rap single to become a Top 40 hit. The members, all from Englewood, New Jersey, consisted of Michael “Wonder Mike” Wright, Henry “Big Bank Hank” Jackson, and Guy “Master Gee” O’Brien. The three were assembled into a group by producer Sylvia Robinson, who founded Sugar Hill Records with her husband, record producer Joe Robinson.[2] The group and the record company are named after the Sugar Hill, Harlem, neighborhood.













Artist:  The Sugarhill Gang
Title:  8th Wonder
Year:  1982
Format:  LP
Label:  Sugarhill Records
Catalog#  540017

8th Wonder is the second album by rap group The Sugarhill Gang. The album was released in 1982 for Sugarhill Records and was once again produced by Sylvia Robinson and James Cullimore. Though not as successful as the group’s previous album, the album did feature the minor hits “8th Wonder” and “Apache” and featured an appearance by another Sugar Hill Records rap group, Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five.


Side one
1.  Funk Box   (8:05)
2.  On the Money   (5:25)
3.  8th Wonder   (3:56)

Side two
1.  Apache   (6:09)
2.  Showdown (feat. Grandmaster Flash and The Furious Five)  (5:41)
3.  Giggalo   (3:51)
4.  Hot Hot Summer Day  (6:12)

Read more from Sugarhill Gang

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments