Skip to content

October 2, 2016

Soundtrack – Hair (1979) – 2Lp

by Record Facts

Hair: Original Soundtrack Recording is the soundtrack album from the 1979 musical film Hair.













Artist:  Soundtrack
Title:  Hair
Year:  1979
Format:  2LP
Label:  RCA Records
Catalog#  BL-3274

When Milos Foreman’s film came out, we that were of the Hair generation thought it was about 10 years too late. I felt that way, until I saw it. And saw it again, and again and again. The actors are all at least as good of singers as the original Broadway cast, and some were stars in the making: Beverly D’Angelo, John Savage, and Treat Williams, If musicals hadn’t been mostly passe by the ’80s, they would have had bright careers as musical stars.

A few verses from “Manchester, England” and a small portion of “Walking in Space” have been removed. The film omits the musical‘s songs “The Bed”, “Dead End”, “Oh Great God of Power”, “I Believe in Love”, “Going Down”, “Abie Baby”, “Frank Mills”, and “What a Piece of Work is Man”. The latter five songs were originally recorded for the film, but were eventually cut. They can be found on this album, while the songs “Don’t Put It Down” and “Somebody to Love” are not sung by characters in the movie, they are both used as background or instrumental music for scenes at the army base. A new song written by MacDermot for the film is “Somebody to Love”. There are several other differences from songs in the movie and as they appear on the soundtrack, mainly in omitted verses and different orchestrations.

All lyrics written by Gerome Ragni, Jim Rado; all music composed by Galt MacDermot.


Side one
1.  Aquarius  (4:47)
2.  Sodomy  (1:29)
3.  Donna / Hashish  (4:20)
4.  Colored Spade  (1:33)
5.  Manchester  (1:57)
6.  Abie Baby / Fourscore  (2:43)
7.  I’m Black / Ain’t Got No  (2:24)
8.  Air  (1:26)

Side two
1.  Party Music  (3:25)
2.  My Conviction  (1:47)
3.  I Got Life  (2:15)
4.  Frank Mills  (2:39)
5.  Hair  (2:42)
6.  L.B.J. (Initials)  (1:07)
7.  Electric Blues / Old Fashioned Melody  (3:53)
8.  Hare Krishna  (3:24)

Side three
1.  Where Do I Go?  (2:48)
2.  Black Boys  (1:11)
3.  White Boys  (2:35)
4.  Walking In Space  (6:13)
5.  Easy To Be Hard  (3:39)
6.  3-5-0-0  (3:49)

Side four
1.  Good Morning Starshine  (2:24)
2.  What A Piece Of Work Is Man  (1:39)
3.  Somebody To Love  (4:12)
4.  Don’t Put It Down  (2:25)
5.  The Flesh Failures / Let The Sunshine In  (6:04)

Read more from Soundtracks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments