Skip to content

September 29, 2016

Supertramp – Paris (1980) – 2Lp

by Record Facts

Supertramp are an English rock band formed in London in 1969. Though their music was initially categorised as progressive rock, they later incorporated a combination of traditional rock, pop and art rock into their music. The band’s work is marked by the songwriting of founders Rick Davies and Roger Hodgson and the prominent use of Wurlitzer electric piano and saxophone.













Artist:  Supertramp
Title:  Paris
Year:  1980
Format:  LP
Label:  A&M Records
Catalog#  AMLM 66702

“Paris” is a live album by the English rock band Supertramp, released in 1980. It was recorded on Supertramp’s Breakfast in America tour in Paris, France, with most of the tracks taken from a 29 November 1979 show at the Pavillon de Paris, a venue which was once a slaughterhouse.

According to Roger Hodgson, Supertramp had several reasons to record a live album at the time, including a desire to introduce their pre-Breakfast in America works to USA listeners and a mutual sentiment that some of their songs were pulled off better live than in the studio. However, he admits that the chief purpose of the album was to buy time; the band was under pressure to produce a suitable follow-up to the immense success of Breakfast in America, and needed to get off the treadmill of touring and recording for a while in order to consider their direction for such an album. Taking such a breather meant the next studio album wouldn’t be finished until 1981 at the earliest, and so something was needed “to fill the gap.”

Using the band’s mobile studio, a number of shows in Canada and throughout Europe were recorded. However, when Pete Henderson and Russel Pope presented the band with unlabeled cassettes containing rough mixes of these recordings, and the members voted on their favourite tracks, the majority of votes coincidentally fell on recordings from the 29 November show at the Pavilion. A few tracks were taken from other concerts during the band’s stay in Paris, and studio overdubs were also added, chiefly for the vocals and John Helliwell‘s organ. However, Helliwell contended that the amount of overdubbing was minimal compared to most live albums of the time: “A lot of people, when they make a live album, just keep the drums and bass and redo everything else.” Filmmaker Peter Clifton shot the concerts in 16 mm film, missing only five songs (“A Soapbox Opera”, “You Started Laughing”, “From Now On”, “Ain’t Nobody But Me” and “Downstream”) to lower expenses and give the camera crew some rest. A&M Records requested music videos out of three songs, “Dreamer”, “The Logical Song” and “Asylum”. Clifton edited them along with Sarah Legon, and even extended his work to ten songs.

The album’s set list contains almost all of the 1974 Crime of the Century (except for “If Everyone Was Listening”), three songs from Crisis? What Crisis? (1975), two from Even in the Quietest Moments (1977), three from Breakfast in America (1979) plus “You Started Laughing”, the B-side to the track “Lady” from Crisis? What Crisis?.


Side one
1.   School  (Lead vocals: Roger Hodgson with Rick Davies)   (5:41)
2.   Ain’t Nobody But Me  (Lead vocals: Rick Davies)   (5:24)
3.   The Logical Song  (Lead vocals: Roger Hodgson)   (3:56)
4.   Bloody Well Right  (Lead vocals: Rick Davies)   (7:23)

Side two
1.   Breakfast In America  (Lead vocals: Roger Hodgson)   (3:57)
2.   You Started Laughing  (Lead vocals: Rick Davies)   (4:02)
3.   Hide In Your Shell  (Lead vocals: Roger Hodgson)   (6:54)
4.   From Now On  (Lead vocals: Rick Davies with Roger Hodgson)   (7:05)

Side three
1.   Dreamer  (Lead vocals: Roger Hodgson with Rick Davies)   (3:44)
2.   Rudy  (Lead vocals: Rick Davies plus Roger Hodgson)   (7:08)
3.   A Soapbox Opera  (Lead vocals: Roger Hodgson)   (4:51)
4.   Asylum  (Lead vocals: Rick Davies plus Roger Hodgson)   (6:51)

Side four
1.   Take the Long Way Home  (Lead vocals: Roger Hodgson)   (4:57)
2.   Fool’s Overture  (Lead vocals: Roger Hodgson)   (10:57)
3.   Two of Us  (Lead vocals: Roger Hodgson)   (1:25)
4.   Crime Of The Century  (Lead vocals: Rick Davies)   (6:31)

Read more from Supertramp

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments