Skip to content

August 16, 2016

Neil Diamond – Hot August Night (1972) – 2Lp

by Record Facts

Neil Leslie Diamond (born January 24, 1941) is an American singer-songwriter and musician with a career that began in the 1960s.

neil diamond - hot august night












Artist:  Neil Diamond
Title:  Hot August Night
Year:  1972
Format:  2LP
Label:  MCA Records
Catalog#  MOV 5004

Hot August Night is a 1972 live double album by Neil Diamond (“Hot August night” is also the opening lyric to Diamond’s 1969 single “Brother Love’s Travelling Salvation Show“). The album is a recording of a Diamond concert on August 24, 1972, one of ten sold-out concerts that Diamond performed that month at The Greek Theatre in Los Angeles. This also marks the first album released by the newly formed MCA Records (a merging of the Uni, Kapp, and Decca labels).
This album, and its predecessor album Moods, are generally acknowledged to be the two most important recording projects of Diamond’s career in terms of defining his signature sound, and in the case of Hot August Night his live performance style, for the future.

This is the ultimate Neil Diamond record. Not necessarily the best — he’s at his most appealing crafting in the studio — but certainly the ultimate, capturing all the kitsch and glitz of Neil Diamond, the showman. And that also means that it’s not just loaded with flair, but with filler, songs like “Porcupine Pie,” “Soggy Pretzels,” and “And the Grass Won’t Pay No Mind” — attempts to write grand, sweeping epics that collapse under their own weight. Still, that’s part of the charm of Diamond and while it can sound unbearable on studio albums, it makes some sense here, surrounded by his pomp and circumstance. That spectacle is the great thing about the record, since it inflates not just his great songs, it gives the weaker moments character.


Side one
1.  Prologue  (2:58)
2.  Crunchy Granola Suite  (4:08)
3.  Done Too Soon / Dialogue (4:16)
4.  Solitary Man  (3:03)
5.  Cherry Cherry  (4:36)
6.  Sweet Caroline  (4:39)

Side two
1.  Porcupine Pie  (1:46)
2.  You’re So Sweet  (2:05)
3.  Red Red Wine  (3:34)
4.  Soggy Pretzels  (2:49)
5.  And The Grass Won’t Pay No Mind  (4:25)
6.  Shilo  (3:17)
7.  Girl You’ll Be A Woman Soon  (2:36)

Side three
1.  Play Me  (4:22)
2.  Canta Libre  (4:53)
3.  Morningside  (5:17)
4.  Song Sung Blue  (4:36)
5.  Cracklin’ Rosie  (2:38)

Side four
1.  Holly Holy  (5:23)
2.  I Am . . . I Said  (4:33)
3.  Walk Off  (1:13)
4.  Soolaimon–Brother Love’s Travelling Salvation Show  (8:14)
5.  Encore  (1:17)

Read more from Neil Diamond

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments